Three Peaks Cyclocross Blog

A personal blog and pointer to all I find on the www about the 3 Peaks Cyclocross

2005 Race Report

(Mainly courtesy of British Cycling):
Rob Jebb (Wheelbase / Ron Hill) closed in on Tim Gould’s all-time record of six wins with his fifth straight Three Peaks Cyclo-Cross race victory. Jebb’s closest rival, for the fourth race in succession was former winner Nick Craig, but once again Jebb’s fell-running expertise proved more potent than Craig’s all round cycling skills.

Jebb was well clear by the top of the first mountain, Ingleborough and although Craig closed in a little on the more cyclist-friendly second half of the race, Jebb’s winning margin was still over three minutes. Craig’s Scott team-mate Dave Collins was an impressive third, whilst Geoff Beetham was fourth.

It wasn’t one of the fastest races ever – the hills have begun to absord the first of their annual winter deluge of rains and although not significantly boggy, with heavy showers also slowing progress, along with variable visibility on the higher sections, the race was tough enough to test the best.

Louise Robinson, the only woman to have won the race more than twice, took her fourth win in a row, by eight minutes from Heather Dawe, with Isla Rowntree third.

In the men’s age categories, John Wilkinson was the first over 40 (and ninth overall) with Ian Holmes second and Chris Young third. First and best first timer was Junior Josh Ibbett in 48th position, just ahead of first over 50 Carl McDonagh in 52nd. Peter Walkington was the first over 60 in 133rd place.

Full Results are here
My more personal account is here

Next Post

Previous Post

© 2024 Three Peaks Cyclocross Blog

Theme by Anders Norén

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook